XF Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie to this forum and have been looking to buy a new car to replace my 4 year old BMW 730d sport. Having looked at the usual german alternatives a test drive in the XF was all I needed to make my decision.

Just as I was about to sign for a new 3.0d Lux in black (with few extras) for just on £32k. The salesman pointed out a used (demonstrator) 2.7d Premium Luxury in ultimate black with every extra and I mean everything. 20" wheels, B&W hifi, Bi-Xenons, Sunroof, Adaptive cruise control, Parking Camera, Voice, Sunblind, Heated/Cooled seats, TV function, blind spot mirrors, Tyre Pressure Monitor, Heated Wheel... I think the only thing it hasn't got is the garage door opener and Ivory leather.

Now the car is used but it is a January 09 with only 3500 miles on the clock. A £45K list price car for £1000 less than the new one I was going to order. Same colour same leather only difference is the 2.7 engine rather than the 3L although with the £1K I saved I suppose I could invest in a Spires conversion :twisted: and have a similar power output to the 3L.

To me it seemed like a no-brain decision and I bought the lightly used one which I will pick up next week. :lol:

Just interested to know what others would have done... bought the new or used one?

·
Administrator
22,500 Posts
Welcome to the forum activ8 :)
You secured a great deal and I for one would have done the same in your situation.
I did exactly that when I bought an S Type a few years ago and I didn't achieve anything like the level of discount against new that you have :eek: