XF Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right, Newbie here, hello all.

Previously happy second-hand 3.0 X-Type and 2.7D S-Type owner and have fallen in love with the XF and am badgering the wife something stupid to let me get one as we are not rich it will be a major investment. I have saved £17k cash and am faced with several choices which I would like to share and receive any advice gratefully. Currently down to driving my wife's 5 year old Multipla......I know!

The key question is what model....Petrol or Diesel?

Well there are a few 4.2s around for early 30ks now and 3.0s for sub 30k. Of course the 4.2s will be 07 or 57 and I have heard of the new car issues (rather like pre 02 S-Type). Are early 4.2s bad or were people just unlucky. I will only do 8 to 10k per year in it so the Petrol Diesel pay-off isn't so important.

I was hoping to get one before, or in, early August 2009 so we could drive to Orkney in our new XF but don't know what the situation will be re:the new 3.0D. Demonstrators by then I suppose. The figures look very enticing on that, but it will be a new and untried engine.

I have seen people talk of remapping the 2.7D has anyone here done that, what can you remap it to BHP and MPG wise? Has it proven worth it? Or should I wait 8 months?

Then there is finance, being a salesman for 18 years before starting my own business 6 years ago I always got a new car every 2 or 3 years but now I have to pay for them I would be glad to hear what people thought of the alternatives, particularly lease finance where you pay £600 to £700 pcm and then hand it back, is that a good way forward? or as I am halfway there with cash should I persevere and save like mad and buy outright. Or a little of both? I have kids and always fear they will spill something horrible....