XF Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Everytime I start the car I get the following message "low battery system will shut down in 1 minute". The car then starts and and the message goes away but things like the air con need to switched on manually.

I first start getting this message a year ago so I changed the battery and it was fine for a while but has come back.

I'm looking for any advise before I change the smaller battery of the two.

·
Registered
195 Posts
Hi and welcome.
Yep, sounds like the battery. I would have expected it to be the large battery throwing up this fault as the smaller one is for the Stop/Start functionality, so keep that in mind. If the batteries prove to not be the issue, then the charging circuit i.e. alternator would be my best second guess.
Bear in mind I have no practical experience with this sort of problem on an XF, I'm just going by memory of past posters on this forum.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Get your main battery CCA (Cold Cranking Amps) tested, if this is low you will get that error display and it will be time for a new battery.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hi all,

Everytime I start the car I get the following message "low battery system will shut down in 1 minute". The car then starts and and the message goes away but things like the air con need to switched on manually.

I first start getting this message a year ago so I changed the battery and it was fine for a while but has come back.

I'm looking for any advise before I change the smaller battery of the two.
I've had the same problem for the last 3 years. Two new batteries and full test of charging system.